Aik Alif – One God

 

This was the first Coke Studio video I listened to (back in 2009) and fell in love with it instantly. I was so mesmerized and impressed by the team and of course Noori and Saieen Zahoor. Music coming alive in such a brilliant way. It really touches my soul and heart. Hats off to them.

Great lyrics. Really great. Aik Alif – just a wonderful truth of all the times.

Lyrics (originally in Punjabi translated to English):

Parh parh ilm te faazil hoya
(You read to become all knowledgable)

Te kaday apnay aap nu parhya ee na
(But you never read yourself)

Bhaj bhaj warna ay mandir maseeti
(You run to enter your mosques and temples)

Te kaday mann apnay wich warya ee na
(But you never entered your own heart)

Larna ay roz shaitaan de naal
(Everyday you fight Satan)

Te kadi nafs apnay naal larya ee na
(But you never fight your own Ego)

Bulleh Shah asmaani ud-deya pharonda ay
(Bulleh Shah you try grabbing that which is in the sky)

Te jera ghar betha unoon pharya ee na
(But you never get hold of what sits inside yourself)

Bas kareen o yaar
(Stop it all my friend)

Ilm-oun bas kareen o yaar
(stop seeking all this knowledge my friend)

Ik Alif teray darkaar
(Only an Alif is what you need)

Bas kareen o yaar
(stop it all my friend)

Ilm-oun bas kareen o yaar…
(Stop seeking all this knowledge my friend)

Allah Sayyaan Allah Sayyaan
(God is Greatness, God is All)

Nee main jaanaa Jogi de naal
(I shall follow the Jogi {ascetic/Sufi})


Jo naa jaane, Haqq ki taaqat
(those who deny the strength of Truth)

Rab naa devey us ko Himmat
(God does not give them courage)

Hum Mann ke darya mein doobey
(We have drowned in the river of Self)

Kaisi nayya? Kya manjhdhaar…
(the boat and the flowing waters do not matter)

Bas kareen o yaar
(stop it all my friend)

Ilm-oun bas kareen o yaar
(stop seeking all this knowledge my friend)

Allah Sayyaan Allah Sayyaan
(God is Greatness, God is All)

:)

25 thoughts on “Aik Alif – One God

  1. Wow, that is just fantastic. The lyrics, too. I’m just … wow. :-) That was so very moving. Thank you. I think I’m going to make a video of that for my next Baha’i gathering. Hope you’re well.

    • Well, the first time I listened to it, I was also “Wow”. I found it so amazing and intellectual that I listened to it more than five times consecutively and daily from that day onwards which continued for like a month or so. I hope Coke Studio comes up with their 4th season soon. I’m eagerly waiting for it. :)

      Don’t think just go for it! Have a nice time.

      And thanks for sharing, it’s worth it.

  2. Pingback: Aik Alif – One God (via Life Just Is) | Well, There It Is

  3. I listened to Coke Studio when it was in its fourth season. I was just too busy in my life and ignoring everything except my profession and family for a long time. In 2011 I decided that enough is enough, I cannot ignore the buzz anymore and now I must listen to it and the first song I listened to was ‘Bibi sanam janam’ and I was immediately melt down but… it was ‘Aik Alif’ which turned me into ashes and blew me away.
    It seems you like ‘Aik Alif’ as well. As a Pakistani I am surprised that you know what ‘Alif’ actually is and its relation to word ‘God’ (Allah actually). I investigated about the coke studio further and came across the name ‘Rohail Hyatt’ and I said ‘Oh my God! So it is Rohail Hyatt of vital signs’. ‘Vital Signs’ captured the top position among all bands for around 20 years and they produced phenomenal music (interestingly, Rohail now calls them flukes). Just youtube about ‘Vital Signs’ and listen them and let me know how good you found them.. Listen ‘Dil Dil Pakistan’ (dated 1987 and watch a very young and thin Rohail playing the piano. You will find It funny I am sure.
    I enjoy reading your blog Nandini. You are a good writer. Keep it up.
    Thank you.

    Atif Ibrahim.
    Karachi, Pakistan

    • Hi Atif,

      First of all thank you so much sharing so much with me. It is not all the time someone spends this much time to write on my blog. I love it! :)

      Yes, I admire Coke Studio very much (following it from the second season) and fourth season was too good. About ‘Aik Alif’, yes, it gives a very strong message and I take it as just “God”, no definitions :). And finding meaning is not difficult, thanks to Coke Studio, as they provide lyrics along with translation. I now admire ‘Rohail Hyatt’ too; he is the soul behind all the songs. I will do the search for the album as per your suggestion, as I love good music!

      Thank you for the comment and appreciating my writing.

      Good wishes,
      Nandini. :)

  4. I am sorry to ask you to listen ‘Dil Dil Pakistan’. I should have taken your sensitivity into account. I forgot for a moment that you are an Indian and it might hurt your feelings. I am sorry for that. But the fact is that it was their first public appearance.

    Because you love music I can suggest you a a very good song by vital signs. Sound quality is poor.

    A very good song from solo album of Junaid Jamshed (lead singer of vital signs). Again poor sound quality but still song is really good.

  5. I didn’t mind at all! I do not get into the perception of division due to the man-made borders.

    Anyways, thanks a lot for sharing, and the songs are lovely.

  6. Pingback: In Vino Veritas | TechLahore

  7. Hi…thank you so much for the lyrics..my favorite song too..says so much about all of us and our lives and the reality in trying to find our inner selves as well as Allah !

  8. Wow, what a powerful voice and the music itself is just soothing to listen to… The meaning of the song to fits very nicely…wish more would listen and live to such words. Great post.

  9. Beautiful music and production. Totally unaware of the Coke Studio show. Looks like a potential Media Literacy post waiting to happen. Thanks for bringing both the music & the show to my attention. :)
    You may be interested in delhi 2 dublin a Canadian group from Vancouver. Heard them live in Elliot Lake. Their music , as the name suggests, is a fusion cultural music traditions in a contemporary sound. One of my favourite pieces is called Nightstep.

Please share your opinion here :)

