An Evening With The Indian Ocean

It’s always amazing to experience the transition from the rough turns of the Himalayas to the never-ending waves of the vast Indian Ocean. A very beautiful experience, indeed. And the realization that, this whole world is so so big and yet what remains with us is the world which we all have created in our minds, is spell-bounding. Yet again, I come to realize of our Existential Aloneness.

 “Always keep your mind as bright and clear as the vast sky, the great ocean, and the highest peak, empty of all thoughts. Always keep your body filled with light and heat. Fill yourself with the power of wisdom and enlightenment.”

~ Morihei Ueshiba

. . . Observing the Waves . . .

. . . Approaching the Waves . . .

. . . Touching the waves . . .

. . . Just After the Sunset . . .

. . . The Church Lights and The Twilight Sky . . .

“A mountain is composed of tiny grains of earth. The ocean is made up of tiny drops of water. Even so, life is but an endless series of little details, actions, speeches, and thoughts. And the consequences whether good or bad of even the least of them are far-reaching.”
~ Sivananda

 Have a happy weekend everyone! :)

P.S.
Date of photography – 01.09.2011
Location – Elliot’s Beach, Chennai, TN, India. (Around 2,710 kilometers from where I live right now.)

46 thoughts on “An Evening With The Indian Ocean

  1. Beautiful words from you and from your quotes to accompany your lovely photos. How I miss the ocean shores! Thanks for bringing them to me. I can bring you snow covered streets today. :)

  2. What a great post… wisely weaved… I loved these quotes… how beautiful. And now, dear Nandini, you fill my humble world even with your amazing photographs like filling my soul with the power of wisdom and enlightenment. Thank you so much. You are living in such a beautiful place in the world, between Himalayas and Indian Ocean… Everytime I love much more… Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    • I just visited this place twice. I don’t live there. But it was a lovely experience, and I’m glad I could share it here. Thank you so much for your kind words. :)

    • I was very very happy that I could visit the beach when I did for the first time. It was back in 2009 around June. Although after that I experienced it once again which you can see in this post. :) It would be great to live where we can get both of them, won’t it be?

      Thank you so much, Linda! :)

  3. Your words and pictures bring peace to my mind. There is something very special about the ocean and particularly where it meets land. I have never touched the Indian Ocean, but hope one day to do so. Your photographs are just beautiful, and my favourite is no doubt the third from the top “Just after sunset”.

Please share your opinion here :)

